Crestwood Graduation

CRESCO - Graduation was about a month later than usual [because of restrictions in regards to COVID-19], but members of the Class of 2020 finally got the opportunity to celebrate their graduation on Sunday, June 21. The students already received their diplomas at a drive-through ceremony on May 17, which included a parade afterwards.
Family and friends were allowed to bring lawn chairs and set up in the football field. They faced the visitor bleachers, while the class was seated in chairs on the track.
Seniors met at the old bus barn, entering the stadium from the east, walking around the track. Chris Rogne, 7-12 principal, welcomed the crowd and introduced the first student speaker, D’Oviion Dixon.
She told the crowd she didn’t know what to think when she found out there would not be anymore class after the schools were closed on March 16.
She quoted Andy Bernard of The Office, “I wish there was a way to know you were in the good old days before you actually left them.” She wondered, “What are the good old days? Are they the games we attended, the locker room, eating lunch, school projects, dances? For me it was taking part in speech and choir.” 
A person never knows what’s going to happen, which is what took place this year.  “Unfortunately our last day wasn’t May 13, it was March 13.” She ended by telling the seniors to “do the things you enjoy.”  
Rogne recognized gold cord students, those who attained a grade point average of 3.5 or above. He then announced the three salutatorians — Madison Brace, Emma Cotant and Tyrone Grant — and valedictorians — Nicholas Braun, Wyatt Curtis and Sharon Goodman.
Curtis then gave his address. He joked, “I hate to give a long speech on a hot day, but here goes!”
He mentioned the sorrows of missing the last quarter of high school but also the triumph of making it through.
The valedictorian then joked with Mrs. Steffen. “In class she said, ‘With only missing a single snow day, you’ll be the smartest seniors yet.’” And then COVID took out the rest of the year.
He quoted Hellen Keller: “When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us." He said, “Find a different door.”
Supt. Ted Ihns introduced the school board members — Alison Holten, Duane Bodermann, Toni Johnson, Shirley Sovereign and Andy Ludeking.
Rogne told the crowd, “These students have met the requirements for graduation,” and named all the Class of 2020.
After waving to their families, the graduates then walked around the track to surround the football field. Usually the students are asked not to throw their hats in the air because of the crowd, but spaced apart, they were given the go-ahead to toss them. It was a fitting end to a roller-coaster year!
2020 Graduates
Logan Matthew Albert
Brandi Nicole Allison
Keelee Nicole Andera
Kael Anthony Anderlik
Kevin Michael Barnhart
Matthew J.D.P. Bauer
Alex James Blankenship
Jenna Sue Bolson
Katlin Ann Born
Madison Renee Brace
Nicholas Joseph Braun
Austin David Buls
Chase William Burke
Shane A. Burke
Ezekiel John Church
Emma LaDeane Cotant
Marshall Nolan Cotton
Wyatt Ward Curtis
D'Oviion Laurence Dixon
Ellana Kimberly Eide
Kailyn Madison Erickson
Kamryn Jungkun Erickson
Sydney S.J. Erickson
Kacey Foltz
Ryan Dean Fortney
Colby James Frazer 
Veronica Lee Fuentes
Sharon Gabrielle Goodman
Jaycee H. Gordon
Donavyn Lynn Gosch
Tyrone Michael Grant
Josie Claire Hageman
Lydia Rose Harvey
Dylan Michael Hauber
Angelina May Hayek
Braden Bruce Hayes
Dalton Wyatt Heit
Dalton Davidson Hubka
Eduardo Jimenez-Tzompaxtle
Bryden Del Juelsgaard
Niklaus Alan Knobloch
Kala Mae Kriener
Libby Lorraine Labosky
Erika Elisabeth Lake
Daniel Lares
Angel M. Lebherz
Isabella Grace Lehmkuhl
Laken Kelby Lienhard
Hailey Drake Mackenburg
Hunter James Mackenburg
Jamie A. Maly
Lucas John McGee
David Jonathon Meinecke
Mitchell Ryan Melaas
Autumn Dawn Nolan
Cameron Ivy Ollendick
Garret Francis Donald Ollendieck
Robert David Ostrom III
Hailey Justice Panos
Joshua Daniel Pavlovec
Josephine Pearl Pinter
Shelby Joyce Pisney
Kelly Anne Rahlf
Meika Rose Regan
Riley C. Reis
Chloe Elizabeth Rice
Krista Rae Riley
Emma Nicole Rissman
Conner Griff Roberts
Katherine Ann Roethler
Kryslynn Emilee Ruppert
Erin Elizabeth Ryan
Wyatt Lee Scheidel
Delaney Jaylyn Scholbrock
Caleb M. Shea
Annaleigh Carol Shileny
Mattie Mae Slavin
Matthew Max Slifka
Kayla Ann Smoltz
Walker Lynn Sobolik
Rachel Leanne Steffen
Brooklyn Jo Stevenson
Kelsey Marilyn Stortz
Memphis James Sweeney
Tyler N. Teslow
Mason K. Theis
Bryer Frederick Thompson
Michaela Marie Walton
Hanna Jo Ward
Taylor Marie Waterbeck
George Wilkie Watson
Megan Ann Watson
Tristan James Wetherington
Reece Jeffrey Wilson

Cresco Times

Phone: 563-547-3601
Fax: 563-547-4602

Cresco TPD
214 N. Elm Street
Cresco, IA 52136

Sign Up For Breaking News

Stay informed on our latest news!

Manage my subscriptions

Subscribe to Breaking News feed